Canadian Online Publishing Awards open for entries

Announcing the 4th Annual COPAs:  

New features for 2012!
 #COPAwards   @Mastheadmag
Canada’s premier awards show for online and digital publishers is gearing up for its fourth year, and we’re pleased to announce exciting enhancements based on feedback from award participants. (Thanks to everyone who answered our survey!)

Data Visualization Category… you asked for it, now it’s part of the COPAs. Awarded to the best use of data visualization technology for journalistic purposes (e.g. interactive maps, animated infographics). Judges will evaluate how well the authors have communicated and presented the relevant information, including ease of use, design, and originality.
2012 COPA Yearbook: The Who’s Who of Digital Publishing in Canada. Many of you asked for better access to the winners. So in addition to the COPA online gallery with links and credits for all winners and finalists, we’re producing a book! (Yes, we know, irony.)
In 2012, all winners, finalists and sponsors will be published in the new 2012 COPA Yearbook: The Who’s Who of Digital Publishing in Canada. This beautifully printed book will be distributed to all attendees of the 2012 COPA Awards event in Toronto in October (included in the price of your event ticket). Extra copies will also be available for online ordering. It’s a keepsake that will last forever to promote your achievements.
Watch for news about an exciting new venue for the 2012 COPA awards event. We’ve outgrown our home for the last three years, so we’ll be moving to a new downtown Toronto location. Same great vibe, just more space! (And wicked multimedia presentation, too.)
As always, the COPAs honour the very best in editorial-based online and digital publishing, divided into three divisions:
Green Division: Digital journalism from newspapers and broadcasters
Red Division: Digital journalism from consumer, custom, religious, and public association publishers
Blue Division: Digital journalism from business-to-business, professional association, farm, and scholarly publishers
The 15 categories in each division cover design, writing, and packaging, in different digital formats including websites, tablet editions, digital replicas and apps.
The COPAs cover work published between June 1, 2011 and June 22, 2012. The call for entries starts April and the deadline is June 22, 2012.
The lively awards event will take place in downtown Toronto in October 2012.
To follow COPA news, sign up for the Masthead Express e-newsletter or follow us on Twitter at @Mastheadmag or #COPAwards.
Make sure to enter your digital work to be recognized and join the who’s who of digital publishing in Canada.

Media Mayor Inc.
Leave A Reply