The Canadian Association of Journalists awards


Full list of 2011 CAJ Awards finalists announced
The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce all of the finalists for its annual awards for outstanding investigative journalism in Canada for 2011.
The winning entry in most categories will receive a $500 cash prize. The winners in each category will be announced April 28, 2012, at the CAJ Awards gala and conference banquet in Toronto, part of the 2012 CAJ conference at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel.

The Don McGillivray Award for the best ‘overall’ investigative report for 2011, judged from the winners of the open newspaper / wire, community newspaper, open television (under 5 minutes), open television (over 5 minutes), magazine, open radio news / current affairs, regional television and CAJ / Marketwire CAR categories, will also be announced at the awards banquet.
Please note that the media outlet listed is where the finalist worked at the time their entry was broadcast/published or where the particular entry was broadcast/published. Finalists are listed alphabetically by media outlet.

The finalists in the OPEN TELEVISON (less than 5 minutes) category are:
Jorge Barrera and Kenneth Jackson
Barrera Carsons
APTN National News
Alex Freedman, Joanne Levasseur, Vera-Lynn Kubinec
Pesticides found in Canadian organic produce
CBC Manitoba
Janis Mackey Frayer
Bodies discovered
CTV News
The finalists in the OPEN NEWSPAPER category are:
Steve Buist, Teri Pecoskie
Born: A Code Red project
Hamilton Spectator
Jon Wells
Darkness on Indian Trail
Hamilton Spectator
Margaret Munro
Feds muzzle scientist over salmon study
Postmedia News – Vancouver
Moira Welsh, Jesse McLean, Andrew Bailey
Abuse in nursing homes
Toronto Star
Larry Pynn
In the wake of a plague
Vancouver Sun
The finalists in the COMMUNITY NEWSPAPER category are:
Steve Bonspiel
Local tobacco giant busted
The Eastern Door (Khanawake)
Tim Petruk
28 seconds: Inside the shooting death of Wilbert Bartley
Kamloops This Week
Heather Rivers
Foster children: In their own words
Sentinel-Review (Woodstock, Ont.)
David P. Ball
‘Getting into bed’ with police risky for queer community, activists say
Cheryl Rossi
Wild life lessons
Vancouver Courier
The finalists in the OPEN TELEVISION (greater than 5 minutes) category are:
Kathleen Martens
Residential school lawyers
APTN Investigates
Timothy Sawa, Diana Swain, Angela Gilbert
Scout’s Honour
CBC – the fifth estate
Greg Sadler
Cure or con?
CBC – Marketplace
Adrienne Arsenault
Mexico’s deadly explosion
CBC – The National
Robert Osborne, Victor Malarek, Patti-Ann Finlay
Above the law
The finalists in the DAILY EXCELLENCE category are:
Bob Keating
Cameras in trees
CBC Radio – Nelson, B.C.
Rob Brown
Stanley Cup riot
Kim Bolan
Bacon brother shot dead in Kelowna
Vancouver Sun
Finalists in the following categories were previously announced on March 27.
The finalists in the MAGAZINE category are:
Corinne Cécilia
Quand education rime avec protection
Education Canada
Alex Roslin
Portfolio entry
Georgia Straight
Selena Ross
Getting Plowed
Maisonneuve Magazine
The finalists in the REGIONAL TELEVISON category are:
Charles Rusnell, Grant Gelinas
Pork barrel politics
CBC Edmonton
John Lancaster, Mary Wiens, Anu Singh
Throwaway buildings
CBC Toronto
The finalists in the OPEN RADIO NEWS/CURRENT AFFAIRS category are:
Charles Rusnell, Grant Gelinas
Crown conduct
CBC Edmonton
Gillian Findlay, Chris Wodskou, Aaron Brindle
Remy’s wake
CBC Radio One – The Current
The finalists in the CAJ/Marketwire COMPUTER-ASSISTED REPORTING (CAR) category are:
Glen McGregor
OC Transpo’s waiting game
Ottawa Citizen
Andrew McIntosh, Kinia Adamczyk
On mange bien à Terrebonne
QMI Agency
Lily Sangster, Ezra Black, Dane Butler, Brittney Teasdale, Alex Boates, Schenley Brown, Andrei Dezsi, Corbett Hancey, Patrick Odell, Tim van der Kooi, Geoff Bird, Fred Vallance-Jones
University of King’s College / The Coast
The finalists in the PHOTOJOURNALISM category are:
Darryl Dyck
Portfolio entry
The Canadian Press
Larry Wong
Portfolio entry
Edmonton Journal
Rick Madonik
Portfolio entry
Toronto Star
Steve Russell
Portfolio entry
Toronto Star
Joe Bryksa
Portfolio entry
Winnipeg Free Press
The finalists in the PRINT FEATURE category are:
Andrew Stobo Sniderman
Residential schools: Survivors share the pain
Montreal Gazette
Sarah Schmidt
Energy drinks
Postmedia News
Michelle Shephard
Somalia: Where famine is a crime
Toronto Star
Mary Agnes Welch
Sniff: Life at rock bottom
Winnipeg Free Press
The finalists in the SCOOP category are:
Tiar Wilson
Fire Story
APTN National News
Natalie Clancy and Manjula Dufresne
Broken Mounties
CBC Vancouver
Ian MacLeod
Toxic Legacy
Ottawa Citizen
Gagandeep Ghuman
Dike seepage finally gets $90,000
The Squamish Reporter
Kim Bolan
Wanted gang killer slips into B.C.
The Vancouver Sun
The finalists for the inaugural jhr / CAJ AWARD FOR HUMAN RIGHTS REPORTING are:
Steven Rennie
Kandahar school numbers don’t add up
The Canadian Press
Alison Crawford
The eyes of Rosa and Antonio
CBC Radio One – Dispatches
David Gutnick
The Gristle in the Stew
CBC Radio One – Sunday Edition
The finalists for the inaugural CWA CANADA / CAJ LABOUR REPORTING AWARD are:
Susan Fuehr
Perks of living in a union town
CBC Windsor
Steve Buist
Ghosts at the gate
Hamilton Spectator
Rachel Mendleson
Income inequality and the decline of unions
Huffington Post Canada
Nicholas Hune-Brown
The housekeepers revolt
Toronto Life Magazine
The finalists for the CAJ/CNW STUDENT AWARD OF EXCELLENCE are:
Adela Talbot, Lauren Pelley, Sean Leathong, Heather Young, Jared Lindzon, Nicole Case, Angela Richardson, Alex Ballingall, Fan-Yee Suen, Trevor Melanson, Brian Moskowitz, Bethany Cairns, Edward von Aderkas, Mariam Ahmed, Stefanie Masotti, Alineh Haindrey
A Good Death: Palliative care in Canada / University of Western Ontario
Matt DiMera
Dismissed! Student association settles RAF lawsuit
The Runner, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, B.C.
Dylan C. Robertson
No place like home?
The Varsity, University of Toronto

Media Mayor Inc.
Leave A Reply